13040 X-Way Road, Laurinburg


Go south on Main Street.

Turn right onto W. Church.

Go one mile and turn left onto 15/401/501 South.

Proceed .6 miles and turn right onto W. Boulevard.

JBH is one mile down the road on the left.


Tours are available weekends from 10a.m. to noon and 1p.m. to 4p.m. and by appointment on other days. Visit either the House or the Museums across the street to access the John Blue House.



Web Site:


Trip Planner

Those that visit here also visit:

The John Blue House and Heritage Village

Part of the North Carolina Rural Heritage Center, the John Blue House is a magnificent example of Steamboat Gothic architecture. The century-old John Blue House provides a glimpse into an important part of the Scotland County past and the culture of the rural Carolinas

While it beckons from a distance, the home also revels in close-up. Featuring no fewer than 12 exterior doors, each with its own stained glass light above, this stately queen also sports nine fireplaces and rare double circular porches.

A successful farmer, the elder Blue was a self-made man and noteworthy inventor, known for the first cotton stalk cutter as well as his John Blue Cotton Planter. The home, nestled in a grove of pecan trees, is the centerpiece of a collection of structures that tell the story of a different time in the region. These include the Jones-Lytch Homestead (ca. 1800), the Shaw Homestead (early 1800s) and the McNeill Homestead (mid-1800s). Don't miss the cotton gin and press, also of antebellum vintage, or the miniature passenger train. And added recently is an original tobacco barn - one of only four still standing in the state. Open weekends from 10a.m. to noon and 1p.m. to 4p.m. and by appointment on other days. The grounds are always open and are used to host numerous festivals throughout the year.